top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Pinching Pennies



Welcome to 2023! Things have gotten very expensive in this world. It is very difficult to stick to a budget when you normal things you would buy now cost way more than they used to!


With all the changes in the past few years, my husband and I have been trying to find ways to live in a smarter way.

We aren't perfect at what we are doing, but we are trying our best.


We've bounced a lot of ideas off each other and started making set plans. Then, we have slowly started living our plans. Here is how we are pinching pennies.


1. Meal Planning

It seems simple enough. We are taking it a bit further. There are foods that are cheaper than others and fill up your belly more. We have made a plan to eat rice at least twice a week, soup once a week, fish once a week, and beans once a week. These four things are a healthier choice and they are not busting our wallets.


Our meal schedule goes like this:


Sunday: Fish and rice

Monday:

Tuesday:

Wednesday: rice and beans

Thursday: soup

Friday:

Saturday: leftovers


By having set days with set meals every week we eliminate buying unneeded items. It also means I only have to plan for four other meals each week, three if we eat leftovers once a week as well.

Rice and beans can be bought in bulk. It's easier to buy dried beans and then cook them in an Instapot or crockpot.


I love the idea of not having to stress about planning meals every week. Now, I have a good portion already planned for me.

2. Stop Eating Out

We used to be able to go to a fast food restaurant and feed our family of 4 for $15-$25. Now it's crazy! We can easily spend $35-$40 for a fast food in one go! No, it's not because my kids are eating more or that my husband and I are getting more food. In some cases, we are getting less food! The prices are outrageous!

The solution is to simply not eat out. This is so hard! But it's gotta be done.

If this is unrealistic (it pretty much is), slowly cutting it down is a good plan. Using apps or coupons for the restaurant will help cut the cost down.


3. Coupons

Using coupons helps a bit with groceries. Most grocery stores have coupons available via apps. Loyalty programs also can help with saving some money while shopping.

I go through my grocery store app as part of my meal planning. I can see the sales and clip all the coupons ahead of time. With the loyalty program, the coupons automatically attach to my account and are applied when I check out.


4. Cash back apps

There are tons of apps that can give you cash back on grocery shopping, taking surveys, playing games, and more. I've tried three of these apps. Ibotta, Swagbucks, and fetch.

Here is my quick review of those three apps.



Ibotta is good if you shop online and are willing to scroll through deals to clip. It is not my favorite and the points accumulate slowly for me. If you shop online more and at a variety of stores, this is an app for you.

Here is my referral code: vekegjw

Using a referral will give both of us a bonus.


Swagbucks I love it. I can easily earn points on this one. This app gives a variety of things to do to earn points. Doing surveys, tedious but easy. Playing games on your phone is more enjoyable but has a time limit. Grocery points by clipping deals and scanning receipts. This is tedious in having to scroll through all the deals and doesn't give tons of points. There are daily polls you can participate and and daily searches that get points easily.

I rack up points quickly by playing games and doing surveys.

I don't like the referral with this one- if I refer someone I get 10% of their points for life. And I don't agree with that.


Fetch is an awesome one. Fetch is just scanning receipts (digital or paper). But the best thing is you don't have to clip the deals ahead of time. Fetch automatically gives you all the points available with the deals there. And you will always no matter what, receive 25 points and any and every receipt no matter what it is for or from.

The downside is you have to eat a lot of points to get any significant amount of money back. I love it despite this because it is so easy to use.

Referral code for us to both receive points: 4H5D7


I love saving up my points and cashing them in for Amazon gift cards. I then use those gift cards for birthdays or to help with Christmas.


5. Ditch one-use items

Ditching one-use items is also a hard one. Paper plates are a hard one for me. I haven't quite gotten rid of those yet.

But one thing I did successfully switch out was the dryer sheets. I bought wool balls to replace the dryer sheets and I love them. They help the clothes stay fluffier and if I add a drop or two of essential oils, I get the same fresh smells that dryer sheets give. Also, when washing pillows, towels, or blankets the wool balls help them keep their fluffy shapes better, just like a tennis ball would.

Making changes one at a time is really easy.


6. Shop Used Goods

Buying new things is so much fun! But buying used things will help you pinch your pennies.

Facebook marketplace is one of my go-to places. Thrift stores are another great way to find used items. Some thrift stores sell name-brand items for a fraction of what they sell for.

I can find amazing things for so much less than what stores sell them for.

It is just a matter of changing your way of thinking. Stop making brand new the priority and be okay with used items.


There are many other ways to pinch pennies, but these are the things I have personally done to help the finances of my family. I am the main person to shop in my family. I feel like it is my responsibility to spend that money wisely.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page