top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

It’s-A Mario Party!

Halloween 2023- Super Mario-themed.

I love this theme. My kids and my husband were all on board with it.

I started planning this in January. I let my kids vote on a few ideas and Mario was the theme that won.


Pinterest is my best friend when planning my Halloween parties. There are some great ideas on there.

I have a Pinterest board set aside each year for Halloween. I fill it with decoration ideas, themed food, and costumes. By July I have things becoming real. Costumes start being made or thought of. And I started solidifying what decorations I needed to make.


This year I got all of our costumes together before anything else. I really lucked out too because I found costumes on Amazon and then ended up finding cheaper things at other locations.


Costumes

My costume was a yellow shirt from Walmart. A homemade hat and a turtle shell from Amazon. I added the spikes afterward, made out of toilet paper rolls.


My husband was Donkey Kong. The shirt was from Walmart, the hat was homemade, and the tie was from Amazon.


My son wanted to be Kamek; the wizard guy. I found the robe at Goodwill and altered it myself. I made a want (not pictured), and the glasses are from Amazon.


My daughter's Princess Peach costume I found at Goodwill. I changed the jewels on the front. and I made her crown out of felt and jewels.


My amazing parents found their own costumes and were the perfect Mario and Luigi.


It is amazing what costumes you can find at thrift stores. That is the way to do it. I loved how our costumes all turned out. And I didn't bust my wallet doing it.


Decorations

With decorations this year, I decided to get as cheap as possible. Luckily I was able to come up with some great stuff just using cardboard and paint.



I wanted the decor to be bright and colorful things that are from Mario.

I made Lukitu with a welcome sign. It's the first thing we see when we come inside my home. I love this little guy. The stick extends out and the cardboard sign dangles from a tinfoil hook.



Red bricks out of cardboard boxes (only about 2 inches in depth) and yellow paper plate coins. I spray-painted the bricks and just painted the lines in after.


Cardboard thwomps. I hung only two in our hallway. I most definitely would have loved to fill my whole Hallway but I didn't enjoy painting these guys.


I also hung more paper plate coins around the house too.


Activities


Our first activity was a pinewood derby. We prepared cars ahead of time. It was a blast! I rented a track from the local college and we raced our cars for about an hour. We had so much fun!

I really loved all the designs we came up with. My son's car was the fastest car out of all of them.


We played Pin the Mustache on Mario. I made the Mario head and the different mustaches for each person to pin. My kids thought this was great fun.

We played a balloon stomp game to nod to the Mario Kart balloon battles you can play. We played two rounds of this. We were all laughing so hard!


We also had a Yoshi egg hunt. I bought easter eggs from Dollar Tree back in April. I spray-painted them white (taped circles to keep the dots).

I filled them with stamps, stickers, and key chains. I found this great pack on Amazon. My parents, my kids, and I just loved all of the prizes.



Food


We started the day with a themed breakfast.


We had fire bombs (raspberries), slippery bananas, and mushroom and Yoshi egg pancakes.


I had metal cookie eggs and mushroom cookie cutters. You have to spray them pretty well with non-stick spray. In the Mario movie, we see Mario and Luigi's family eat pancakes near the end. But it was a pretty easy breakfast for us to enjoy.


I didn't do a themed lunch- we went out to eat. But I went all out for dinner.


We had Lemonade with star-shaped ice cubes.

We had mushroom pasta just like Mario does in the Mario movie. I made two types of sauce. A cheese one (alfredo) and a dairy-free one. Both were very tasty.

I also made green grape and strawberry Piranha plant kebabs. A yummy spinach salad, garlic bread, and bananas.


For dessert, I made a sheet of lemonade rice krispie mystery boxes. The question marks on top are melted white chocolate chips.

I also made lunch lady brownies and sprinkled them with rainbow and star sprinkles.


We had such a great party. We all had a great time. I love putting these parties on each year. I find so much joy in doing all of it. Happy Halloween!



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page