top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

DIY Bluey House

I really wanted to buy a Bluey dollhouse for my daughter for Christmas.


Here's the thing- if you want to buy the whole family figures plus the dollhouse, it is $60. I am not willing to do that. So I bought the Bluey family set for $15.



Next, and this might sound crazy. But, I prayed for a dollhouse. I asked Heavenly Father to send me a dollhouse that I could afford. He did.


I found a Melissa and Doug farm house ($70 on Amazon) at a thrift store for $18. I snatched it up. It didn't come with any animals or anything, but that was just fine with me.


It was exactly what I wanted. A small wooden dollhouse with two floors. Heavenly Father sent me the dollhouse that I was picturing.


Now, I was tasked with turning this barn into a Bluey dollhouse. And I was so excited!


I could hardly wait to start working on this dollhouse, but I had to wait until my kids were in bed each nigh.


I knocked all the stable walls out and patched the holes. And then I got to do all the fun things.


I started with Bluey and Bingo's bedroom. I wanted 3D objects, lots of detail, and removeable furniture for my daughter let to play with.



The first room came out super well, it took me 3.5 hours to do.


The next room I did was the playroom.


I made a little Chattermax, toy bin, dollhouse, and chair to complete the look. I even added a drawing that is found in some of the episodes of Bluey.


Then came the kitchen.


I made it a unique configuration of the Heeler kitchen because I wanted you to be able to open the fridge and see what was inside.



In the fridge you can find many items from different Bluey episodes, like blueberries or raspberries. Pavlova and edamame beans.

Also hidden in the kitchen is sticky gecko.


The last room was the bathroom.

You can find the main bathroom furnishings plus the foam letters that Bluey and Bingo play with. I made the sink, tub, and toilet out of a shampoo bottle.



I had such a blast putting this house together. I did end up painting the outside of the house as well.



And then for finishing touches I added a longdog to each room.

I did end up spraying the whole thing with a matte sealant spray to keep it nice. Luckily I already had some so I didn't end up having to buy any!



I think my daughter will like this gift. I'm so excited to watch her open it Christmas morning. I really have loved building it. I loved adding all the little details to make it special.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page