top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Five Senses

We have started a unit on our bodies. I love this unit we do! I've done it once with just my son and now I'm doing it again with both of my kids.



We start the unit out by tracing our bodies on butcher paper. I double the head (for brains later) and they draw their faces. Then, we attach yarn for hair. They are kind of freaky looking but it is such fun.


I do a short lesson on how Heavenly Father created their bodies. That their bodies are beautiful and it is our responsibility to take care of them.



After the stage is set and faces are drawn then we can begin to dive deeper.

I will do an activity with each thing we study about the body. Since my kids are really young we only study a rough picture of all the capabilities we have.


Sight

We began with sight! We went on a color hunt! I laid out colored pieces of paper and we searched for items with our eyes that matched the paper.

This was fun for my 4-year-old and my 2-year-old.


Hearing

We did a sound game next. I filled Easter eggs with different items and my kids tried to guess what was inside of them.

I filled our eggs with nails, marbles, tissue, M&M's, cotton balls, and cereal. You can fill your eggs with just about anything!

We observed that different sounds are louder and other sounds are quiet.


Smell

Next, we did a smell test.

We read a book about stink and then we ran got to smell a few different things

We smelled garlic, fresh basil, pine needles, orange extract, and chocolate.


Taste

This is such a fine experiment for kids! I collected lots of things for my kids to taste.


Bitter- cocoa powder

Sour- lemon juice

Spicy- black pepper

Sweet- grapes

Savory- ham

Salty- salt


They did not enjoy the cocoa powder or the black pepper. But they loved trying all the other things.


Touch

For touch, I gave them four different textures to feel. My 4-year-old rubbed each one on his face as well as touched them with his fingers.

We traced their hands and glued each item on the paper.



Studying our senses is so much fun! I loved these activities because it got my kids moving, and used fine motor and gross motor skills. It showed them amazing things in our world as well as some of the incredible things that our bodies can do.

Recent Posts

See All

Opmerkingen


bottom of page