top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Sabbath at Home

Updated: Jul 30, 2020

What has it been like to have church services in our home? Let me tell you about our attempts to make our Sabbath holy and delightful.



Every Sunday my little family (Ricardo, myself, & our son) gather around the piano to sing an opening hymn. I mean Ricky sings, I attempt to follow along on the piano, and our son squirms and climbs all over me and my husband.


Ricky then gives the announcements, reading from the weekly email our bishop sends out to our ward. The email usually contains the same message to continue home church and sacrament. And then it tells about the updates that happen in the ward- someone leaving on a mission or coming home, babies born, etc.


We then sing, (again, me attempting to play and sing and hold my baby at the same time) a sacrament hymn while Ricky prepares for the sacrament. After the song my son and I sit on the couch for the sacrament. I made a small book of pictures of Christ, temples, prophets, and other gospel topics for our son to look at. The sacrament is a renewal of covenants we make at baptism. Ricky is worthy and able to pass the sacrament under the permission of church leaders. The sacrament is the focus of the Sabbath Day.


Ricky then joins us again and we sit and give our son a lesson from the nursery manual "Behold Your Little Ones." These are short lessons and he should be in nursery but with COVID-19 we are at home. That is enough sitting for that child so then he gets to run off and do his own thing.


Ricky and I then discuss the weeks "Come Follow Me" lesson- we both try to study the lesson throughout the week so we can share our thoughts with each other on Sunday.


Church at home definitely has its ups and downs. It has been an adventure figuring out things with our son and making it meaningful for all of us. I am grateful that we are able to renew our covenants each week during this crazy time. I am anxiously waiting for the day where we get to meet with our ward again. I am so excited to feel the strength of our ward as we worship together.


Recent Posts

See All

Easter

留言


bottom of page