top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Ugly Pillows & Crochet

When we bought our home two years ago, my husband and I also bought new couches. Oh, they are the cutest teal couches! They have a sort of vintage look to them and I just love the color. But they come with the ugliest pillows!


The pillows are solid teal on one side (that's just fine) but on the other side, it's this abstract chaos of colors!

Now, I had a choice--I could either save up my money and buy new pillows (pillows are not the cheapest, even the covers aren't!) or I could fix them myself. Yeah, I chose the second choice because that's just more fun!

I got some fantastic cream yarn for Christmas this last year and decided to put it to good use. I was taught to crochet when I was young and thought I'd just whip something up.

After searching Youtube to relearn (turns out that I had originally learned wrong), I got started.

I couldn't just leave it simple, because I just can't so I added some great embroidery details to the pillow to just make it more fun! This by far was the worst part. My fingertips formed blisters from pulling the needle through the thick fabric of the pillow.

I also think my embroidery skills could be something that I could develop a little more. I like how it turned out but it would be cool to learn some other types of stitches.


Oh, so much better! I am learning that sometimes we don't have to spend lots of money to have things look nice and wonderful. We really have so many other cheaper resources to make our homes feel more like home!



I have been inspired by multiple people to start doing, rather than just pin pictures of all my wishes on Pinterest. I am so proud to see my dreams and ideas take shape in reality.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page