top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Bedroom Makeover

When my husband and I bought our home in 2019 it had been completely remodeled and landscaped. It was really nice moving into a home where we didn't have to worry about fixing a ton of things.


What I quickly learned after moving in, was that even though it was all designed beautifully, it wasn't my design. So the house didn't feel quite like my home. I felt like the design was a little dated, though beautiful. It also felt really monochrome and I am the type of person who loves color. Anyway, I felt pressure to not change anything but to keep the current state of the house maintained.


July 2020 I spoke to my friend and she told me what she had learned in her interior design class- That you can't let someone else's design keep you from doing your own. She said a good way to start is to paint.



So that's what I decided to do. Every room, every wall in my house is painted a warm gray. Gray is nice but not for every room. My husband and I picked out a nice blue color and I went to town in our bedroom.


I decided just to do some accent walls in the blue color and then paint the other walls a nice clean white.


Well, we've learned from a darling children's book that "If you give a mouse a cookie..." or let your wife paint the bedroom... she's going to want new bedding, curtains, shelves, and new decorations.


I have a hard time waiting for things to happen. I hate waiting for the budget so I often just make do with what I have or make things. I searched my Pinterest boards and found all the pins of bedrooms. I picked out elements that I liked and I created my design.


My husband grew up with his mom always telling him "I love you to the moon and back." And he then started telling me this as we dated and it has continued through our marriage. So I knew I wanted to incorporate that into our room. What I ended up deciding to do was to have a giant painting of the moon with a sign next to it with that quote.


I used a large piece of thick cardboard that I had and painted the moon. It took me two hours but I like how it turned out. I painted the quote on canvas that I stored away, I believe I bought it from Dollar Tree.


After seeing the moon and the blue walls my husband requested that we did stars in our room as well. I found wooden stars at Walmart, spray painted them gold, and attached them to string. I hung them up behind a big wedding photo we have.


Because of the stars, I decided to use gold as the highlight color in the room. I found a gold mirror, hung that behind the door. And I also painted some frames gold to tie in that color. I love gold.


Next, I decided we needed a large shelf to place all my new decorations on! I bought some cool industrial shelf brackets from Amazon to add some interest.

My husband was in charge of getting the wood for my shelf and I ended up waiting a very long time... like several months.


Another decoration I decided I needed to add to my room was some plants. I decided to do both live and fake plants. I have a real snake plant and a philodendron because they don't require as much sunlight. And then I have a fake succulent and ivy.


I love how everything came together on that new shelf.


I updated the picture collage I had up by spray-painting and staining frames to match everything. I took out some of the old artwork and added some mirrors (I want to add more light to the room, this is one way to do that). I reorganized it and now they are hung up in a more pleasing way.


I got new bedding and curtains for Christmas. I chose to do cream colors so that if I do end up painting my room again, the bedding and curtains will match easily.


I changed up the curtain rod and installed a double rod so I could have both a blackout curtain as well as a sheer curtain. I honestly think that it looks so dreamy! I get my dark nights as well as light during the day!


I added some new pillows (crocheted two of them) and bought a darling throw blanket.


I am so in love with how my room feels now. It truly is my bedroom now and it just feels so relaxing and fun. I think the colors all go very well together. I love having my own design in my room, it truly feels wonderful.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page