top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Dinosaurs and New Paint

One thing that has been very difficult is the pressure to keep our home the way it is. It's been hard to change things even though this is our home. I never thought that would be difficult for me because I am very creative and I sure love to paint.


My sister decided to update her kids' bedrooms and I was jealous! So I decided to update my son's room too!



My whole house is painted gray. Which is fine, it's a good base color. But I wanted to do something fun for my boy. I also didn't want to buy new paint so I used the gray, white, and blue paint that was here leftover.

I used the three colors to create a sort of gradient for some mountains. I thought it would be fun without having to put too much effort into it.


I made my own stamp out of cardboard. You've got to have footprints when you're dealing with dinosaurs.


When my son saw the footprints on the floor, he kept growling (for dinosaur) and saying "toes." So cute! I think that means it was a good idea.


I switched out the paintings I had up for something more chill. I wanted to add more nature to the room and came up with this great idea to do leaf prints.

My sister told me a cool way to use the Dollar Tree stretched canvases. You remove the canvas, paint on it like normal, and then attach the frame on the front of it. Then you have framed artwork. I stained the frames to make them look a bit more upscale. I really like how they look.


I hung them on the wall as well as a branch from the neighbor's tree. I added a few faux leaves on the end to add some more green to the room. Simple, relaxing, fun.


I added some other fun elements to place on his bookshelf.

A little dinosaur terrarium- I got all the supplies for it from the Dollar Tree. It was meant to stay on his bookshelf but once he discovered it, he has been carrying it around the house.

I revamped his name letter. It was just painted orange before and now it has branches. I like the raw, rustic vibe it gives.


Again, I really wanted nature to be inside so I put this fake plant up. It draws the eyes up as it follows the dinosaur footprints.


Adding the new shelf was the last touch to my son's new room. I think that the shelf really tied in all the colors of the wood in the room and the items placed on it make it personal.


I love how everything turned out! I want my room to look like this! It seriously is so much fun!


I used some of the original gray paint in the mural so the colors would look good. I just think it looks brighter and more dynamic.


My son has dinosaur stuffed animals and dinosaur sheets to pull in the dinosaur theme. But I think what I love most is that this design I ended up doing allows me to be able to change it up easily. Mountains go with just about anything.


Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page