top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

DIY Quiet Book

I decided to make a quiet book for my son. This is something I did at the beginning of April so that he would sit quietly for the LDS General Conference.

I had a whole bunch of green felt that I found at a thrift store back for Halloween 2019. Other things I used were buttons, other fabric, ribbon, paint, zipper, needle & thread, and hot glue.

I cut out 6 pages of green felt- I decided that was a good length book. And then my whole kitchen exploded with crafting materials!

Crafty Kitchen

I started this book at 8:00 pm and stopped working at 11:30 pm. I wasn't finished either. I worked on it some more the next day. So the whole book took me about 5 1/2 hours to do.

The only materials I ended up buying for this last-minute project (I started two days before the Conference) were buttons and the key rings to bind the book when it was finished.

Quiet book pages

I grew up with a quiet book so a few of the pages I made were things that I took from my own book. In the book I grew up with there was a little girl whose hair you could braid, shoes you could tie, and I remember a zipper and buttons. I found other inspiration on Pinterest.

Braid the Girl's Hair Quiet Book

Braid the girl's hair. The bow ties are glued to the page so they won't ever be lost! I used yarn, felt, ribbon, fabric, and a permanent marker for this page.


Shoes Quiet Book

Shoes! I used actual shoes for the holes (The shoes were in my donation bag and they didn't have shoelaces!), ribbon, and felt. You can lace and tie the shoes.


Mouse & Cheese Quiet Book

I love this page! I used felt, fabric, needle & thread, and paint. The cheese is glued down on two sides so the mouse can easily get through the holes.


Mouse & Cheese Quiet Book

The mouse is 3D made from felt. I painted the ears, eyes, and nose. I just love him! He is so cute!

The tail is glued to both the mouse hole and the mouse. It is nice and long to be able to weave in and out of that yummy cheese.


Shape Tree Quiet Book

I used buttons, felt, needle & thread, and paint for this fun tree! I thought this would be a great opportunity to throw some shapes (learning opportunity) into the book along with something to strengthen fine motor skills.


Tent Visitor Quiet Book

A Tent! But what is inside of it? For this simple page, I used felt, a zipper, and paint. But really! What is inside of it?


A darling raccoon! So cute! The raccoon can be removed from the tent. Gotta make a simple page exciting right?


Personalized Title Page Quiet Book

For the front cover, I made this family portrait out of fabric and felt. I wanted the book to be more personalized for my little boy. So I added this. Originally I was going to put my family in the tent but I loved it so much that I wanted it out to be seen more clearly.


I added "Quiet Book" to the cover and bound my book with rings. It is all ready for my son to enjoy! This will be very nice to have for the LDS General Conference as well as with church each Sunday.




Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page