top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Dollar Tree Valentine's Craft

Updated: Feb 28, 2020

I love holidays, I love them so much. But honestly, I don't love Valentine's. However, I just have to have some decorations for this holiday. I love to craft so this will give me an excuse to do so.

I don't have a wreath or sign for my door for this month. So here we go- Cheap, cute door sign:


Supplies:

  • Dollar Tree sign $1

  • Paint (themed for the holiday; red, white, purple, pink, grey) (Walmart on sale 59 cents, of course, I already have some)

  • Ribbon (Dollar Tree $1)

  • Hot glue (Already have this as well)

  • Modge podge (Dollar Tree or craft store $1)

  • Scrapbook paper (craft stores for cheap maybe $1)

Total cost: About $5

You could also add jewels, flowers, glitter- all these things can be found at thrift stores or Dollar Tree.



Here is how I assembled my February door sign.

Firstly, acquire materials. I then painted my sign. I ended up painting the L with real red, the V in grey and the E in barn red. I did 3 coats for the red and 2 for the barn red and grey letters. I did not paint the sides of the sign because I wanted to keep a rustic hint to it to tie in the twine that you hang the sign from.



Next, I added scrapbook paper to the O. And I found an old card I received from someone that had flower stickers on it. I peeled those stickers off and added them onto the E (I think they were wall stickers from Dollar Tree, they had that feel to them and the background was clear). I glued the stickers on with stick Elmers glue and cut the edge off around the E. Ribbon time! I hot glued a line of Ribbon down the L. Dollar Tree now has some very cute holiday ribbon. I don't know about you but for most holidays I don't need tons and tons of ribbon that cost anywhere from $3-10 a roll. Dollar Tree has just the right amount for a price I am willing to pay.



I wanted to seal the door sign all up because it will be going on my front door, so I used Modge Podge. On the V I applied a thicker layer with some swirling motions to add some more texture to the sign without adding too many more designs or colors. Great idea, but it did take some time to dry, I then added a second coat of Modge Podge just in case.




I love how this turned out! I love how the colors came together. I like how the twine, ribbon, and sides give a rustic appeal and then the colors to add festivity. It also now looks like something you could find at a more upscale craft store instead of Dollar Tree (My opinion, I did a great job!).


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page