top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Emergency Preparedness

My husband and I have been married for 3 1/2 years and we made it a priority from the beginning to have some sort of food storage. Now, we were both students for most of the 3 1/2 years so we didn't have a lot of money to work with. What we ended up doing was buying 3-5 cans of food each time we went grocery shopping. And we saved all of our juice containers so we could fill them up with water later. As you can imagine we didn't have a lot of food, water, or other things saved up that would help us in an emergency, but it was a start.


For the last few weeks or so, the thought of preparing for an emergency has been pressing on my mind. In my religious belief, I believe that there are going to be disasters before Jesus Christ comes again. Now, this could be the Coronavirus or other illness, it could also be famine, war, earthquakes (where I live), and many other different disasters, or something as simple as losing a job. It could happen soon, or it could happen later. Whatever happens, it is always a good idea to have some sort of preparation.

So this like I was saying, this has been on my mind a lot! Then our neighbor gets in contact and expresses that he wants to help us with our emergency preparedness. A week later my mother urges me to get some things on hand, just in case. So my husband and I decided that we had better follow through with all this advice.


Luckily my husband and I are no longer students so we have a little more money we can work with. We made a list of everything we thought would be a good idea to have to survive for two weeks out of our home, plus some additional things.



Then off the store, we went! We spent the amount we expected but it was all worth it. If a disaster doesn't happen we will still have food that we can use. It was actually really bonding! My husband and I were working together to protect our family, to prepare our family! We came home with some great stuff!


We washed all of the buckets and water jugs we got. It is important to store food in a sealed clean container. We also learned from my mom (expert in emergency preparedness) that these containers need to be off the ground when stored outside (on cement). This is because cement is porous and means that think can seep through the containers and contaminate the food.


There is a lot to learn when it comes to preparing for emergencies but I am grateful for the support from friends and family as well as lots of online resources.

We decided that medicine would be a good thing to have on hand no matter what. So we got a bunch of cold medicine and immune boosters. This is just a good thing to have when you live further up north I've decided.



I am very proud of what we have been able to accomplish in just a few days. We will continue to work on our preparation. I am excited about our progress!

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page