top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Hanging Photo Ledge

I've had this wall in my home for a year now and it really needs something on it! I haven't been able to come up with a way to decorate it. One of my problems was that we have never taken family pictures. So that held up a lot of my ideas.


We finally took some family pictures in May and now I could go ahead and design the rest of my front living room. I decided on doing two long picture ledges. Do you know how much a small picture ledge costs!? After looking at several places I decided I would build my own ledges.


It took a really long time to actually get started on the ledges. Because of COVID-19, there have not been as many wood deliveries to our town. I finally got some wood at the end of June, and I started this project in April.



I got two 3"x8' boards and one 1"x8' board to create the photo ledge. That is all the wood (of this type) that I could The two thicker boards for the base and back and the thinner board for the front piece. I cut the boards to be 60" long and used the leftover pieces for smaller photo ledge.


I sanded them all real smooth and then stained them. After that, it was just a matter of putting everything together. I used a combination of wood glue and nails to attach the front piece. My husband helped me screw the entire ledge to the wall. He is really good at making sure photos and shelves are straight.


So beautiful! I love the stain finish that we chose. The color of it ties in with our entertainment system.


I spray painted some of the frames navy blue and gold. I figured if they turned out horrible I could buy some more at the Dollar Tree. I just really love color.

The pictures look really fun in the frames. I changed some of the photos to black and white, I didn't want my wall to be too overwhelmed with color.


The finished look of both photo ledges! I love them so much and I am so happy to finally have family pictures up in my home! This project ended up costing me only $10 (I had the stain, sandpaper, and hardware from previous projects). I would have to say that that is so much more worth it than the price of paying someone else to do it!


My home is really coming together. I love the things that my husband and I are accomplishing. I am so happy with the results. I feel very proud of the things I have learned to do this year.



Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page