top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Harry Potter Halloween

I love Halloween. I love it so much! I'm not sure where this love came from because I didn't really celebrate it growing up. My parents hate crowds and don't like creepy scary stuff that is associated with Halloween- I don't like the blood and scary stuff either but I love everything else.


Every year I decorate big for Halloween (big, compared to the rest of my family). This year I decided to do a Harry Potter-themed Halloween. My husband and I just finished reading the series together and so I have had so many ideas on how to decorate this year!

Here is what I came up with.




"You are here to learn the subtle science and exact art of potion-making." -Severus Snape


Potions just fit so well with Halloween. So even if this is the only year I do Harry Potter as my theme, I will be able to use the potions every Halloween no matter what! I found these uniquely shaped bottles at A. C. Moore- I am sure you can find them at any craft store.

I hand-wrote each label. I researched the different potions on https://pottermore.fandom.com/wiki/Pottermore_Wiki to make sure each label described the potions correctly. I sealed the labels with Modge Podge.


What to put inside to bottles? I made slime of course! I added food coloring and glitter to make the colors I wanted. For the Gillyweed I bought fishing worms.

Simple Slime recipe:

2/3 c. Elmer's glue (the white works the best, not so much for the clear)

1/4 c. Water

1/2 t. baking soda

1 1/2 t. Saline or eye drops (must contain boric acid and sodium borate)

Mix glue, water, and baking soda together, try to remove as many bubbles as you can. This is when you can add those sparkles or food coloring, but you can also wait until the end (it is a little messier). Slowly add 1t. of the eye drops, it thickens like crazy! Next, you will add the other 1/2 t. of the drops.


Getting the slime inside the bottles took some effort and a pencil to shove it down it but I was successful.


"I solemnly swear I am up to no good." -Marauders Map, Harry potter


The Marauders Map is so iconic that I couldn't get away without one. An easy option would have been to just buy one online but I didn't. So I drew a simple, small version of just the front cover of the map.



"Why Spiders? Why couldn't it be 'follow the butterflies?'" -Ronald Weasley


Spiders are another great one that can be used for Halloween no matter what. So I used spider webs and these cute little handprints made by my son to show the spiders off. I also found these fun foam webs for a $1 each to hang in the windows.


In addition to the cute spiders, I bought a bunch of fake spiders to put up all over my walls! I bought two different kinds of spiders from Dollar Tree. The small ones were originally orange, so I spray painted them. Love it!



"I'll get yer an owl. All the kids want owls, they're dead useful, carry yer mail an' everythin'" -Rubeus Hagrid


I found this adorable snowy owl and knew it needed to represent Hedwig. It took me a lot of time to actually figure out what I was going to do with it. After a couple of months of thinking on it, I decided to have this small figure rest on the symbol the Deathly Hallows.




Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page