top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Mental Health Awareness

May is National Mental Health Awareness Month. I am sure after being quarantined that we have all struggled with some mental health issues (depression & anxiety maybe?).


I have struggled with depression my whole life. I've always had a hard time making friends in school. I remember that all through junior high and high school that the topics of peace and happiness were something that I studied a lot. I've been on medications, had years of therapy, been hospitalized, and opened up to a lot of individuals for help. It is not always a cheerful topic to discuss. But in the light of Mental Health Awareness Month, I want to open up a little more.

This quarantine has truly taken its toll on me. I feel down and depressed. I am having a hard time finding joy in the things that I love. It has been difficult to be a good mom and has been a strain on my marriage. I know that I am not alone in these types of struggles, especially now.


I have learned through the years of dealing with depression that my faith is something that can get me through. It is hard though to sometimes feel that God is listening or speaking back. So in addition to trusting in God and His love, there are many other things that I can do to help my mental health.


1. Tell yourself something positive or write down something you are grateful for.

  • My husband and I have been trying to do this every day. We ask each other "How did you see God in your life today?" You could ask "What was something happy in your life today?" Doing this has helped a lot. It forces us to step outside of the negative thinking and see something good.

2. Exercise

  • I am not great at this honestly. But recently I have been trying a little bit more. I jump rope a bit and it really does make me feel better. We have a lot of time now while in quarantine. Even setting a small goal of a certain number of push-ups or jumping jacks would do us good.

3. Eat a good meal

  • Eat some fruit and vegetables. Try to prepare them in a different way. Eat three full meals each day. You need to put good things into your body. At my home, we are eating lots of strawberries and raspberries. My husband has been making lots of smoothies and I tried roasting some vegetables.

4. Open up to someone

  • It has become very apparent to me of badly I need social interaction. I am an introvert but I really do miss being able to meet with my church and seeing my friends. FaceTime a friend and talk about how you are doing. Talk about your struggles, they are probably struggling too.

5. Serve someone

  • In my opinion, this is the best one to do. Helping other people helps us step outside of our heads. It helps others be happy and it brings happiness to ourselves.

6. Try something new that makes you excited

  • It's been hard to look forward to anything because Idaho is on a statewide stay-at-home order. We haven't been taking our son anywhere. Besides going on walks I have only gone out of my house maybe 4-6 times total in a month. All plans have gone out the window and there has been nothing to look forward to. So try a new hobby, take a class, take a different path when you walk, plan something for the future.


My dear friend suggested to me to get marriage counseling. My husband and I are doing that. We've had one appointment so far. We all might need a form of counseling to recover from being quarantined. My husband and I are going to keep trying because we love each other enough to do so. Don't jeopardize your mental health and happiness. You are important and worth the extra attention.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page