top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

Upcycled Succulent pots

I bought a bunch of #Dollartree succulents a while ago and never got around to placing them in my home. Part of my problem was that I didn't have any pots that went with my color schemes. I didn't want to buy tons of new pots and I did want to make use of the ones that I did have. So I used what I had in my house and gave two containers a makeover!


The first container I did was a green candle holder that I bought years ago. It looked similar to these ones.

I can't remember why I bought a green candle holder in the first place but it really isn't my favorite thing. The candle holder is green and see-through. I suppose with a candle in it, it would be fine but not to hold succulents.


The second container I used was a baby food jar.

I kept a few of these when my son was eating this baby food mush. I just love how small they are! I haven't used them for anything because...they are so small. But they are a perfect size for small succulents!


As you can see, I couldn't use either of these containers the way they are. I searched what I had in my house and found some twine.

This is a thicker twine that I bought at #walmart. I've been using it to tie tree branches together during pruning season. Beside the twine, the only other thing I used was a hot glue gun and a candle!


I wrapped the twine around the container, gluing it as I went. I really like the thickness of the twine.


After I finished twisting the twine, treating my burns, and peeling dried hot glue off my counter I lighted a small candle and burnt the fly-away fibers of the twine to create a nicer finish to the containers.


Next, I filled the containers with plastic grocery bags and hot glued it in. I poured dirt over the top so it looks like the succulents are planted. Then I glued the succulents in place.


The baby food container is on the right and the DollarTree container is on the left. I love how they turned out. The containers look so much better than they did before.


I also found this fun wooden container from Dollar Tree and I have a bigger one just like this in my bathroom already. I thought that this smaller one would look awesome with a few succulents in it as well!

I painted this container light blue to match the colors in my bathroom. I lined this box with paper and filled it up with stuffing and covered it in dirt. Then I hot glued the succulents inside it.


It turned out so darling and it looks so cute in my bathroom. I love succulents and I love that Dollar Tree sells fake ones. Now I only have 3 more succulents to figure out what to do with!


Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page