top of page

LADY OF THE HOUSE

Homemaker in the making

This is my journey in becoming the Lady of the House. I have projects and parenting ideas. As well as just fun things. 

Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Home: Subscribe
Home: Instagram

LADY OF THE HOUSE

  • instagram
  • pinterest
Home: Contact
  • Writer's pictureStacey

What to get Him for Valentine's day??

Updated: Feb 14, 2020

Valentine's day is one of my least favorite holidays. It has always been a holiday that just seems silly, I mean we should treat our spouse more than once a year! I don't need a holiday to do that. But I am married now and my spouse likes to give gifts for these types of holidays so to avoid feeling guilty- I do too. But what do I get the man??

There are the normal romantic ideas that are given but because they are given, according to the rules of gift-giving (as said from my husband) that doesn't count as a gift.

Pinterest has so many ideas it's hard to choose from, but it's worth the search! This year I decided to go a little "bigger" than what I normally do. So this is what I did for my husband for Valentine's day.


The first I chose to do was something personalized for his office at work. Shutterfly.com is the place to do this. I chose to do a mousepad because it just seemed like a great idea. Shutterfly allows you to customize items with photos. The best part of Shutterfly is that they always, always have deals going on. So for this particular gift, I got free and only had to pay shipping (which is usually $6-7). Not too bad!


Shutterfly also has referral bonuses. Using the following link, we can both get something free or discounted from Shutterfly! https://invite-shutterfly.com/x/J6yeSQ


The next gift I decided to do required a little more hands-on crafting. This is an idea that my sister shared with me from Pinterest.com. My husband loves soda, it's about the only sugary treat that he will ingest. So the gift is "6 Ways I love you"


Materials needed:

  • 6 bottles of soda

  • Cardboard soda box/carrier (Does it have an actual name?). Or just something to carry your drinks in.

  • Other treats.

  • Markers or something to write with

  • scrapbook paper or construction paper

  • glue

  • scissors

  • curling ribbon

Construction:

This part is so easy. Using the scissors, glue, paper, and markers cover up the labels on the box with cuteness. I ended up not getting soda in a carrier (Here's the link to where I got the idea: https://www.goodhousekeeping.com/holidays/valentines-day-ideas/g3077/valentines-day-gifts-for-him/). I decided to do 6 different treats, not just 6 drinks. So I am a cardboard box I had on hand. Make sure you write on it "6 Ways I Love You) otherwise, he won't know you love him! (This is a joke).



Next with some more paper create and write out six tags- reasons why you love your spouse. With the curling ribbon, attach the tags to each individual soda bottle or treat.



Place the soda bottles and treats into the now decorated box.

Boom! Valentine's gift!


I am so proud of myself. This seriously is the most I have ever done for Valentine's Day. I realize that as my kid grows I will have to do fun things each year...so I suppose this is now the norm in my life.

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page